Where I Stand On The Confederate Flag

Posted: June 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

OnlyConfederateFlag

Believe it or not, after a number of posts on Facebook and Twitter concerning the subject, people still ask me where I stand on the Confederate Flag issue. I’m not sure if it’s a reading comprehension issue or what, but here goes:

IT HAS TO GO!! PERIOD!!

I suppose at one time, the Confederate Flag stood for all the folks on one side of a war that took place over 4 years, 3 weeks and 6 days between 1861 and 1865. Today, it has taken on a totally new meaning. It’s being used by a number of people and organizations to promote hatred and bigotry in a big way.

I’ve never liked that flag…Even before I knew what it stood for. Stands to reason I’d like it even less now. While people all around me displayed it with a measure of pride (friends, family and others where I grew up), I’ve always believed it was being displayed by a bunch of people who were pissed off because the south lost a 200 year old war…. Didn’t really see much sense in it…. Still don’t.

If you’re proud that your people are losers, it’s certainly your prerogative to boast about it, but put that damned flag in a museum somewhere or display it in the privacy of your own home so you’re not not mistakenly being dubbed a bigot. If you actually ARE a bigot, that’s a totally different issue.

I’ll sit back now and watch the number of “friends” and “followers” dwindle and not give a flying shit either way. Know ahead of time that your derogatory comments will most likely be removed because I don’t care what you think. Be sure to go out there and have a nice day.

Comments
  1. Tammy Hamilton says:

    Amen Andy! Although I do use it as an eearly warning system of sorts. I see it, I avoid it. It usually means an argument with some Neanderthal. Love you CooteDonDon’t ever change. Tammy

Leave a Reply

